Butternut Squash and Sage Risotto

It’s Fall! Why do pumpkins get all the attention. The checker at the market gave me the last butternut squash at the store for $0.69…flirting with me? With that price, I suspect he was. Must have been the new hair.

HAIR

So I basically Just bought a box of Arborio Rice at Trader Joe’s and followed the direction on the box with a few deviations. Here we go!

Ingredients:Β 

1 box (17.6 oz) Arborio Rice

1-2 Tablespoons oil or non dairy butter

1 yellow onion chopped

1 cup butternut squash puree (cut in half, seed and gut, rub with oil, salt and pepper, bake at 400 cut side down for like 40 minutes or until soft all the way through)

1 cup water

4 + cups broth

1.5 teaspoons salt

2 Tablespoons fresh sage chopped

pepper to taste

Butternut Squash Risoto

Heat oil in a large sauce pan and add onions until golden. Then add rice and cook until translucent

Add one cup of water and cook until absorbed. String frequently

Blend broth and squash together and add one cup at a time letting each cup absorbs before adding the next.

Add salt and sage with the third addition of liquid.

Add pepper to taste

CHOMP CHOMP CHOMP!

6 thoughts on “Butternut Squash and Sage Risotto

  1. The other night I made a sauce out of butternut squash as a base for pizza, but I realized I didn’t have sage. It was too sweet for me. I guess I’ve never had butternut squash before haha. I put butternut squash, salt, pepper, almond milk, dried basil, and garlic. I wanted to put coconut milk but I was too lazy to open the can haha.
    This looks good though!

  2. This looks absolutely glorious! I’m completely and utterly addicted to butternut squash at the moment – but haven’t yet combined the marvel that is risotto, with some fantastic squash. I’ll definitely have to give this a go. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

