San Francisco and Los Angeles Vegan Eats

Took a trip to San Francisco to visit a friend and did and OK amount of eating. I used to live there so I didn’t feel the need to eat until I burst. Here are my SF adventure photos,eating and otherwise .

First SF stop was an oldie but good. Emmy’s Spaghetti Shack really hits the spot sometimes. They moved locations. It’s still on Mission but now it’s a on the other side of the street near the BK. The new location is much better! A lot bigger!

Emmys

Next Day was Pinhole Coffee where they had Nana Joe’s vegan treats.

Pinhole2

Pinhole1

Then to Ike’s for a Vegan Pilgrim and Phill’s for a Pepple’s doughnut.

Ikes and Pepples

Matt and I on Bernal Hill.

Processed with VSCOcam

Saw some Miss Van art outside of Upper Playground

Processed with VSCOcam

I super wanted to go back to the Moraga Steps and our old neighborhood.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

I always get this look

 Processed with VSCOcam

I heard Timeless was a gem so we took the trek to Oakland for some brunch. My pastry was pure goodness. Brunch was a sausage biscuit that I didn’t think I wanted until Matt got it and I decided I needed to help him eat it.

Processed with VSCOcam

Got a frittata and a quiche.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

Before bed on the last day we stopped at Cancun for burritos.

Cancun

Then my homeboy came home with me from Berkeley for a mega eating adventure.

First stop was Crossroads. Sorry for the crappy pictures. They have dim lighting. I hate dim lighting with all my heart. But the food was great so I dealt with it.

Artichoke Oysters ($12)

Processed with VSCOcam

Spicy Meatball Flatbread ($14)

Processed with VSCOcam

Tortelloni ($14)

Processed with VSCOcam

We also had Scaloppini Marsala with Porcini Mushrooms ($20) but it was not pretty so I didn’t take a picture. It was also just Gardein meat. Not cool.  We didn’t know that when we ordered it.  No hate to Gardein but when I go to such a pricey place, I want something I can’t find at the super market. AMIRIGHT?!

Lemon Cake ($8)

Processed with VSCOcam

Also I must note that Tal Ronnen himself came out to the table next to us to shave a freakin’ truffle over their plate. How cool is that?!

Day two was Real Food Daily for a Real Food Burger  with the works ($16) and some Mac’N’Cheese ($10) with a house salad ($5)

Processed with VSCOcam

Then to MooShoes for some perusing

mooshoes

Cool Sighting: Jeff Goldblum shirt that I need. Swoon.

Processed with VSCOcam

Next Stop was Mohawk Bend

Avo & Chips ($12) and Vegan Burger ($12)

The idea of having a deep fried avocado for dinner was gross to me…until I tried it.

The Vegan Burger had a crunchy texture and it was really good. I couldn’t finish it but it was even good cold as leftovers today…I need to get  a microwave.

Processed with VSCOcam

Vegan Chili Cheese Fries ($7) I know meat eaters who love this. I wasn’t into it much.

Processed with VSCOcam

Then what would an LA vegan eating adventure be without a trip to Donut Friend ?!

Processed with VSCOcam

We went a little crazy. All doughnuts are between $2 and $4 I think we got Lemon Weapon (made vegan), Jelly, Nutella Vision,White Chocolate Stripe, (I forgot) and GG Almond.

Processed with VSCOcam

Day 3’s first stop was Vromage. I’ve been pretty excited to try this place. The owner was super nice and welcoming. Bobby and I got there super early and he gave us lots of attention and let us sample a bunch of cheeses. I think this will be a frequent stop for me. He has like 17 cheeses but not all on the same day. He had about eight the day we went.

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam

We each got a sandwich on a baguette ($12 each) One with a creamy pepperjack and one with feta.

Processed with VSCOcam

We had a little time to kill so of course we just went straight back to Donut Friend for a Jimmy Eat Swirl and an Apple Fritter. Fritters?

Processed with VSCOcam

Our last stop on his visit was Sage Vegan Bistro. I wanted to check out the Culver City location because they have pizza. This location was BEAUTIFUL! Way bigger, super cute and LOTS of desserts!

Quinoa corn cakes with avocado and
spicey cream cheese dressing ($8.95) Yuuuum.

Processed with VSCOcam

BBQ Pineapple Pizza ($11.95) It had Follow Your Heart  which I had never had but I wished it had house made cheese instead.

Processed with VSCOcam

Not sure what he got. Looks like a club but I recall pesto so it might be California Avocado Pesto Burger ($11.95)

Processed with VSCOcam

We went all out for dessert. Salted Caramel Chocolate Cheesecake and Strawberry Cheesecake ($8.95) and Maple Pecan Bun ($5ish)

My strawberry cheesecake was so light and creamy. The chocolate one was too rich for me. The bun was gluten free and super dense and deceiving. I put it in the over this morning and warming it up made it taste much better.

Processed with VSCOcam

And I think I saw this guy.

MIC DROP. BOOM!

I don’t think I could have handled any more restaurant eating out. This was a good ending to the trip. Thanks for the pounds, Bobby!

Processed with VSCOcam

I’m contemplating a vegan adventure for my 30th birthday. Any cities that double as vegan meccas I need to check out? Let me know! Will travel for vegan food!

3 thoughts on “San Francisco and Los Angeles Vegan Eats

Leave a Reply

