Vegan Pupusas!

This was my second attempt at pupusas. I made them a few weeks ago for Mother’s Day and they were pretty good but a little dense and lacking salt.

 pupusa1

So I gave it another go and tweaked it a bit for this month’s IE vegan potluck.

2

For the filling, this time I used sweet potato mixed with mushrooms and green chilies

3-4 medium sweet potatoes

1 carton of white button mushrooms

3 Tablespoons of canned green chilies

garlic powder

salt

paprika

For the Masa:

2.5 cups masa

2.5 (maybe less) warm water

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 garlic powder

* I didn’t have vegetable shortening or vegan butter so I just left it out, but I suspect it would have been good to add.

Once the masa was made I took small balls and flattened them out in my hands and put a dollop of filling in the middle.

3

Start pinching up the sides until you can pinch it closed at the top.

4

5

Flatten it back out and toss it on a pan with some oil.

6

Cook until golden brown on each side.

7

9

Lady really wanted to be invited to the pot luck. Silly Chubs, pupusas are for humans.

10

They are relatively easy to make, they are just time consuming. I’ll for sure make them again and keep experimenting!

Now for the pot luck. I always 2 dress sizes bigger than when I arrived. There is always such a wide variety of food so DUH I have to try everything whether it fits in my belly or not. This month’s theme was Latin so there were enchiladas, soup, salsas, empanadas, spicy things, and together Micheline and I make a whole Mexican.

Here is everyone announcing what they brought.

 photo 1 (2)

Three tables of food!

photo 2 (2)

photo 3

photo 4

photo 2

Your plate should always have a least 4 desserts on it.

photo 3 (2)

Micheline and I ready to CHOMP CHOMP CHOMP.

photo 5 (2)

’til next month!

5 thoughts on “Vegan Pupusas!

Leave a Reply

