Raw Day 5- Raw Pesto Lunch!

Who knew pinterest could actually be useful!? I found something on there and actually made it! This calls for a belly celebration. This pin was from luvskinny.com and you can see the recipe here.

I have been trying to follow Fully Raw Kristina’s version of raw which is low fat and does not include any oil or salt and includes very few nuts and seeds. Check out this page for details. And I think the only spice she uses is cinnamon. But I’m coming to find it’s not working for me. If I want to make this realistic for me I’m going to need to tweak some things. Also I’m losing weight too quickly (never thought I’d say that! haha) and I’m sure it’s because I’m not eating enough calories. I really want this journey to be less about following strict rules where I don’t have wiggle room and more about eating good, clean, healthful foods that give my mind and body a boost. And a life without salt is not a world I want to live in! I’ve been trying to focus on making my body something that reflects what I want to be. I want to be healthy, kind, free of cruelty, and happy most of all. I’m not saying Kristina’s lifestyle is not a great one, so instead of taking the all or nothing approach I’m adding in a few healthful foods that will keep me on a realistic (for me) raw path while still mostly looking to Kristina’s 21 day challenge for guidance.

Image

You’ll need:

1/2 c of pine nuts

4-5 c fresh basil (I just used whatever I had which was maybe 3 or 4 cups)

1 garlic clove

1 teaspoon agave/maple syrup or a couple dates (I used 2 dates and it came out delicious!)

1/2 c olive oil – I just used enough to bring it all together and I’m sure it was much less than that

salt and pepper to taste

ImageThe pesto was really really good. I only had a tiny bit of zucchini left so I just tossed what I had left into a bowl of kale and threw in a few cherry tomatoes at the end for color and flavor. I think when I eat the rest tonight I’ll add in a bunch of stuff and make it a big meal. Image

CHOMP CHOMP CHOMP

https://www.facebook.com/saplingvegan

3 thoughts on “Raw Day 5- Raw Pesto Lunch!

  1. For the last week and a half I’ve been developing a raw meal plan for Plant Based on a Budget readers and have found My Fitness Pal to be a huge help. Every time you eat something, insert it into MFP and they’ll help make sure you’re getting the appropriate calorie intake. ❤

Leave a Reply

