Farm Sanctuary’s Celebration for the Turkeys

For years I have wanted to visit an animal sanctuary and I was fortunate enough to visit Animal Place in Grassy Valley, CA a few months ago where I met some wonderful people and wonderful animals. Here I am being friends with Aden the sheep.

Image

Today I was able to go to Farm Sanctuary‘s Celebration for the Turkeys! Here is a photo post about the day:

This turkey wanted to kill me:

Image

Goats and sheep were the first friends of the day:

Image

Image

Refreshments and snacks after checking in:

Image

After check in there was a lot of free time to roam the sanctuary and go in and out of all the animals pens.

Image

This is Jimmy sleeping:

Image

Image

Image

Image

This guy was having some alone time:

Image

Oh Jimmy, you so crazy:

Image

Gene Baur stalking:

Image

Getting ready for the turkeys:

Image

They were shy at first:

Image

Image

Image

This one was NOT shy:

Image

Image

Image

The kiddos loved feeding the turkeys:

Image

I fed Gable (not this turkey). I was kinda scared at first but  turns out turkeys are not scary. She was really camera shy so I took a picture with the one instead:

Image

Poser goats:

Image

This goat was sleeping on the sheep’s butt. SLEEPING…ON HIS BUTT.

Image

HONK:

Image

Oh just a couple of pigs sleeping with thier tongues out:

Image

Image

I forgot her name! UGH.

Image

FOOOOD:

Image

I don’t know how this all fit in my body:

Image

Gene Baur!

Image

Chloe Coscarelli, vegan chef from Cupcake Wars:

Image

Silent auction Vaute Couture dress a REALLY wanted. If you don’t know about this brand you should:

Image

Author Melanie Joy gave a 30 minute lecture and was so inspiring. Sometimes as a vegan I think I know everything (am I right, vegans!? haha). I have seen her book, Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows,  around a bunch of times and thought, “what’s that going to tell me that I don’t already know?” But she had such a fresh perspective on things and I think she should really get a side gig as a stand up comedian. I am definitely going to pick up her book and keep my eye on what she’s up to.

Image

And of course…DESSERT! CHOMP CHOMP CHOMP

Image

I encourage anyone and everyone to go, vegans and non vegans alike! It was great for families too (although I did see a kid chasing a terrified sheep, but his dad quickly caught him!) I am so glad I made it out to this. It was perfect weather such a nice day spent with the animals and to top it all off there was no traffic!

One thought on “Farm Sanctuary’s Celebration for the Turkeys

Leave a Reply

